DIY Moisturizer with Juniper and Grapefruit

For as long as I can remember I’ve had a small obsession with skincare and taking care of my complexion- so much so that I took a course on formulating my own natural products. Since I’m not getting any younger, making sure I keep up with a good routine and drinking plenty  of (but probably still not enough) water have made its way to the top of my priority list.

My skin doesn’t respond well to chemical-filled products, so over the last few years I’ve been on a hunt for the best ‘natural’, or as chemical-free as they come, skin care lines.  I’ve found a few products that made it into my daily life but I finally decided on putting my new skills to use and making my own products. After many, many trials and tribulations, I finally found a formulation for a moisturizer that works for my combination skin both day and night.  Since I tend to break out, I focused on using essential oils that help with acne/breakouts and this formula can easily be changed to use the oils that best suit your skin.

Screenshot 2016-03-23 20.12.40

Ingredients:

  • 40 grams  Fractioned coconut oil
  • 45 grams distilled water
  • 6 grams emulsifying wax
  • 8 grams glycerine
  • 11 grams chamomile extract
  • 1 gram vitamin E
  • 1 gram preservative
  • 15-20 drops grapefruit EO
  • 15-20 drops Juniper EO

Instructions:

Using a double boiler, heat the coconut oil and add the emulsifying wax until the wax is melted.  In a separate bowl, mix together the water, glycerine, and chamomile extract. Slowly pour in the water mixture into the heated oil, stirring so everything combines smoothly.  Add in the vitamin E and preservative and finally, add the essential oils last.  Remove from the heat and continue to stir until it firms to a smooth lotion consistency. It is very important to make sure your space is clean and disinfected to help ensure there is no bacteria entering your  mixture!

My favorite part of DIY anything is being able to change and customize your creations.  So whether your skin is oily, dry, or somewhere inbetween, go nuts and find the right oils that work for you!

One thought on “DIY Moisturizer with Juniper and Grapefruit

Leave a Reply

